Qatar exempts Portuguese from entry visa


This Middle East country has authorised citizens from 80 countries to enter without a visa, according to the Qatari Ministry of the Interior, Qatar Tourism Authority (QTA) and Qatar Airways.

Qatar will allow visa-free entry to 80 countries, including Portugal, according to the Qatari Interior Ministry, the Qatar Tourism Authority (QTA) and Qatar Airways.

In a statement, the previous entities explained that the country considered “further enhancements to visa policy, including waiver for holders of visa/resident permit for GCC and Schengen countries, as well as UK, USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand".

From now on, passengers travelling to Qatar and coming from these countries will only have to fill out a form when they arrive, and possess a passport valid for at least six months and a return ticket.

The number of days of exemption depends on nationality, in a 180 days maximum. These measures are part of a Qatar strategy to facilitate tourist access to the country. Qatar will launch a new strategy for tourism next September to boost the sector's influence in the country's economy.